Don’t Let Me Go

Standard

So I have this weird knack for writing songs that would go with a story I have either, written, have started writing, or hope to someday write. This is one of them. To set the scene the story is kind of a little Mermaid spin-off (those are becoming popular now-a-days aren’t they?) In my defense I have harbored this idea for at least 5 years! It is about a girl, and at the age of ten saves a boy from drowning. Ever since both of them have fell in love with one another but when she comes to land on her 17th birthday as a human, the boy is unaware that the girl of his dreams is standing right before him! Meanwhile her ex comes to town after her, determined to bring her back with him. However he doesn’t expect to fall in love with a land-stuck siren.

Here are the lyrics told from both of the girls’ point of view:

Feel the sand between my toes
I watch the tide blow in
It always wins
I’ve got your hand in mine
Nothing’s ever felt as right
As tonight
[chorus:
Remember when we first met?
I watched you run into the sea
What were you thinking?
The waves hit against my knees
I lean on you to support me
Don’t let me go]
Feel the cool ocean breeze
On an hot august night
You held me,
You held me so tight.
You kissed me beyond the shore
Your lips tasted like saltwater
On my tongue
I knew you were the one.
[chorus]
Don’t you dare
Don’t you dare
Try to drown my heart
Don’t you dare
Don’t you dare
Try to hide from me
Can’t you see
Can’t you see
Our love could divide the sea.
Don’t you dare
Don’t you dare
Try to let me go
Don’t you dare
Don’t you dare
Try to set me free
Can’t you see
Can’t you see
Our love could divide the sea.
Remember when we first me?
I saved you
And then you saved me
The waves hit against us now
As I embrace you under the moon’s glow
Don’t let me go

Leave a Reply

