Like a Violin

Standard

My heart is strumming in your hand
You play it like a violin
You’ve got my soul in your grips
Going to keep me hanging on your starship

Reach into the galaxy
Pull out a star for me
Burning in my chest
Where my love once rest.

You’ve got me under your spell
You play the craft so well
Hey there music man
Can you lead me out of this wonderland?

Down the rabbit hole
Bring me some tea
Go in for the gold
You’ve kept me empty

You play your harmony
Using my melody
As you pluck at the strings
My lungs are humming
I feel the music lulling me to sleep.

Reach into the sea
Play that harp for me
Once upon a time
Do I get a happy ending?

My life strums in your hand
You play my heart like a violin
I’m just a puppet to you now
Dancing on stage for your audience.

These are actually song lyrics believe it or not inspired by the music on Ermilia’s Listen & Write <——check it out!! Oddly after inspiring this writing, the lyrics don’t quite fit with the music :[ Oh well!

12 thoughts on “Like a Violin

  1. Oh, I thought it was a poem when you wrote it in the comments, but I like the lyrics idea. I don’t think we’ve had anyone do that yet (it’s still a pretty new event). I hope you drop by for Picture it & Write as well. Instead of a song you get an image. I’d be very excited to see what you come up with.

    -Eliabeth

  2. PS, you don’t have to travel the road alone at all. We’ve been helped on our journey by many authors aspiring and published, many of them indie authors. Hit us up on our blog or e-mail us if there’s something we can do to help you out.

    -Eliabeth Hawthorne

  3. Love the simile. It wraps up in such a perfect metaphor,
    “Once upon a time
    Do I get a happy ending?”
    I really liked those two lines. Seemed whimsical, sad. Things just started and already you’re wondering if it’ll end well. It’s kind of like my personality. I definitely related to this poem.

Leave a Reply

