Moon Child

Standard

I want to live forever
I want to see the world
But I am just a girl
Poor and alone
With no family of my own
Still I want to live forever
And see the world.

Dear goddess of the moon
Please make my dream come true
I will do what ever you wish
Please help me Miss.

My soul?
I suppose that’s OK
What will I need it for
If I’m going to live for eternity?

My, My, Moon,
You shine so bright.
Your one eye stairs down at me
So full tonight.
Tell me what is this tingly feeling in my skin?
What kind of voodoo are you working with?

My bones feel hollow
As they crack and break
I would call out for help
But I have no one to name
My body feels foreign
In its new shape.

Colors are void
With these new eyes of mine
Miles away I can smell fresh blood
As sweet as wine.
My paws dig into loose dirt
As I travel to a nearby pond
Peaking in I can see the result of my rebirth.

In my reflection I see
A wolf looking back at me.
Ha!
You take me for a fool?
“If this is what it takes to make my dreams come true
Then so be it!”
I howled to the moon.

This weeks picture it & write inspired this poem as well as a short story ( The Wolf’s Howl)! <—-Check them out ;]

3 thoughts on “Moon Child

  1. Great poem! I loved this stanza ‘My bones feel hollow/As they crack and break/I would call out for help/But I have no one to name/My body feels foreign/In its new shape.’ I liked that you made the poem talk about the persona wishing to be immortal and that becoming a wolf or maybe “werewolf?” was the means to do so. Most ‘turning into a wolf’ stories are brutal and something forced upon the character. I like how this differed. Nice work!

Leave a Reply

