Broken Past (2008 Re-Write)

Standard

Original written 6/28/08:
You didn’t talk to me when you said you would
You weren’t there for me, when you said you could be
You were never there for me
I was all alone
Didn’t have a home
And you found a way into my soul
Into my soul.

And the light’s turning black
I need to find away back out of your arms
Out of your arms.

I’m giving into you
‘Cause I know deep inside you love me too.
But you only push me away
I know you don’t want to make the same mistake
Again
But this is not the way to amend
Your broken past

You blame me for things you’ve done
You act so tough and push away everyone you love
I try to save you
Try to protect you
Even if you don’t do the same for me
You don’t do the same for me

And the light’s turning black
I need to find away back out of your arms
Out of your arms

I’m giving into you
‘Cause I know deep inside you love me too.
But you only push me away
I know you don’t want to make the same mistake
Again
But this is not the way to amend
Your broken past

You’re so torn up
But I need your pep talk
You’re not the only one
You’re not alone
We can save each other from our broken past

I’m giving into you
‘Cause I know deep inside you love me too.
But you only push me away
I know you don’t want to make the same mistake
Again
But this is not the way to amend
Your broken past

Re-Write:
You didn’t talk to me when you said you could
You weren’t there for me when you said you would be
You were never there for me
I was all alone
Didn’t have a home
And you found your way into my soul
Into my soul

And the light’s turning black
I need to find a way back out of your arms
Out of your arms

I cared for you
I know somewhere inside you did too
But you only pushed me away
I know you don’t want to make the same mistakes
Again
But this is not the way to amend
You’re broken past.

You blame me for things you’ve done
Act so tough and push away everyone you love
Push away, push away
I try to protect you, try to save you
But you don’t do the same for me
Push away, push away

And the light’s turning black
I need to find a way back out of your arms
Out of your arms

I cared for you
I know somewhere inside you did too
But you only pushed me away
I know you don’t want to make the same mistakes
Again
But this is not the way to amend
You’re broken past.

You’re so torn-up
Can’t even talk
But you’re not the only one
Why can’t you see?
You’re so messed-up
Ready to give up
But you’re not alone
I’ve always waited for you to come home

I cared for you
I know somewhere inside you did too
But you only pushed me away
I know you don’t want to make the same mistakes
Again
But this is not the way to amend
You’re broken past.

Leave a Reply

