Still In Love With You (Summer 2008 re-write)

Standard

This was the first of my summer 2008 re-writes. That summer I wrote a ton of songs so I thought it would be fun to go back and touch them up a bit.

2008 Version:

I know I shouldn’t,
But you keep me under your current
I didn’t mean to fall
I didn’t want to at all
But I let my heart win
And I just gave in
You stole my soul
And now the world around me is so cold

[chorus]
It was a stormy night
And I was shaking in fright
I let you take my hand
I let you kiss my lips
And I fell again (and again and again)
Your eyes made me give in
I don’t know what to do…
‘Cause I’m still in love with you

You took my heart
Tore it apart
Why are you holding me down
Where I’ll surely drown?
Was it all a lie?
Did you mean to call?
Death by waterfall.

[chorus]
It was a stormy night
And I was shaking in fright
I let you take my hand
I let you kiss my lips
And I fell again (and again and again)
Your eyes made me give in
I don’t know what to do…
‘Cause I’m still in love with you

You drew me in like a current in the wind
You had me convinced you seemed so perfect
But you ripped my heart
Making heart-breaking an art.

[chorus]
It was a stormy night
And I was shaking in fright
I let you take my hand
I let you kiss my lips
And I fell again (and again and again)
Your eyes made me give in
I don’t know what to do…
‘Cause I’m still in love with you (x2)

No matter what you do
Or the pain you put me through
I still love you

~~~~~~~~

Now for the touched up version:

I know I shouldn’t
But you keep me in your current
I didn’t mean to fall
I didn’t want to at all
But I let my heart win
My logic gave in
Now I have made a mess of things…

[chorus]
It was a stormy night
And I was shaking in fright
I let you take my hand
I let you kiss my lips
And I fell again (and again and again)
Your eyes made me give in
I don’t know what to do…
‘Cause I’m still in love with you

Why are you holding me down
Where I will surely drown?
Was it all a lie?
Did you mean to call?
Why do I always fall
For your parlor tricks
You’d think by now I would learn
You can’t be trusted

[chorus]
It was a stormy night
And I was shaking in fright
I let you take my hand
I let you kiss my lips
And I fell again (and again and again)
Your eyes made me give in
I don’t know what to do…
‘Cause I’m still in love with you

You drew me in like a current in the wind
You had me convinced, you seemed so perfect
Wish I had seen the devil’s eyes behind your own
A little too late now I’m already in the rabbit hole.

[chorus]
It was a stormy night
And I was shaking in fright
I let you take my hand
I let you kiss my lips
And I fell again (and again and again)
Your eyes made me give in
I don’t know what to do…
‘Cause I’m still in love with you

~~~~

lucky for me i realized i was never in love with this guy :p hope you enjoyed!!

Leave a Reply

