Stepping Stone

Standard

You left my open heart

To bleed into the dark

Now I’m left with your mark

To remind me of our spark

Now I know

I’m only a stepping stone.

You blew in like a summer breeze

But autumn came too soon

And your grip went loose

Now I see

A stepping stone is all I’ll be.

Maybe one day, someone, somewhere

Will grow tired of walking

Maybe someday, for someone

I’ll be their final stop

Won’t have to board another bus

Won’t have to skip another rock

Won’t have anywhere else to go

We’ll be each other’s home…

But I know I’m meant to be alone

Can’t fool me,

I’m a stepping stone.

 

Leave a Reply

