I Don’t Want To Be A Sinner

Standard

I didn’t mean to make a mess of things,
I guess neither did you
But you and I are both sinners
And we just do as sinners do

We lust, we lie, we cheat, that’s life
We loved, we lost, now it’s time to say goodbye.

I don’t want to be a sinner
But Lord knows I ain’t a saint
Neither of us is the winner,
Because neither of us could think
I don’t want to be a sinner
But I guess that’s what I am
Neither of us is the winner
Because you and I are both damned.

I didn’t mean to ruin your life
I guess I am just a whore
Because instead of going to the light
I followed you into the dark

I didn’t mean to fall in love
I guess you might say the same
But neither of us could stay away
Now we’re both to blame

We lust, we lie, we cheat, that’s life
We loved, we lost, now it’s time to say goodbye.

I don’t want to be a sinner
But Lord knows I ain’t a saint
Neither of us is the winner,
Because neither of us could think
I don’t want to be a sinner
But I guess that’s what I am
Neither of us is the winner
Because you and I are both damned.

I didn’t mean to make a mess of things
I didn’t mean to start a war
I didn’t mean to ask for so much
But I was greedy, I wanted more

I don’t want to be a sinner
But Lord knows I ain’t a saint
Because when he tested my faith,
I threw it all a way
I don’t want to be a sinner
But I know that’s what I am
Because when I’m kissing you,
I know I am damned.

Leave a Reply

