Rust Away

Standard

I used to think sadness was love
That needing someone was the same as longing for their touch
I used to think I would never be good enough
For anyone because no one could make the sacrifices I was

Stuck outside, ready to rust away
When you came by, sheltered me from the rain
You looked in my eyes and said it would be okay.
And for the first time, I wasn’t worried.Rust Away

I used to believe pain was happiness
Because feeling anything was better than the emptiness
I used to believe I was destined for loneliness
Because no one would let me inside of them

I was stuck outside, ready to rust away
When you came by, sheltered me from
the rain
You looked in my eyes and said it would be okay.
And for the first time, I wasn’t afraid.

For the first time, I’m not alone.
For the first time, I have hope.
For the first time…
For the very first time…

I was stuck outside, ready to rust away
When you came by, sheltered me from the rain
You looked in my eyes and said it would be okay.

It had been all night, was sure I’d rust red
When you brought your light, taught me to shine instead
You took my heart inside of your hand
And for the first time I know what happiness is.

Leave a Reply

